My Travelling Affair

“Happiness is not a state to arrive at, but a manner of traveling.” – Margaret Lee Runbeck

I previously mentioned my dilemma with coming up with a blog name. No matter how much brainstorming I did, none of the ideas felt right until I came up with The Travelling Affair.

Travelling is a work affair for me. I get to travel because of my job. I have the unglamorous (contrary to popular belief) but wonderful job of being a flight attendant. It has granted me with an unbelievable opportunity to travel the world and get paid to do it. Ask me a year ago, and I never would have thought this would have been a possibility for me. My heart wanted to drop everything, live in the moment, and go travel the world, but my brain wanted to responsible, keep working, save money, and make decisions for my future. This job was a win-win situation, but carried with it a few ramifications, which brings me to a different kind of definition of the word “affair”.

Travelling is also a love affair, and at times I feel like I am cheating on the other part of my life. At a time and age when I feel the responsibility to make decisions that will advance me towards a lifelong career, and settle down, I am choosing to explore the world instead. I know this is a decision I will never regret, but even my awareness of that doesn’t change the fact that I often think about the things I should be doing in life, or am expected to be doing by this point of my life. I am believing and trusting that choosing to do what makes me happy in the moment will lead me towards more decisions and opportunities that will continue to bring me happiness.

And so, although my travelling affair had started long ago, I started The Travelling Affair.

Leave a Reply

